Review: The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Image from Google

I finished The Help a couple of weeks ago and figured I should get around to writing my review on it.

I loved it, plain and simple. I thought it actually started a little slow in Aibileen’s first part, but once you are introduced to Minny the whole book just picks up, and I could not put it down.

Throughout the book Stockett has your rooting for Skeeter, Aibileen, and Minny. You want the book to be published, you want the book to be successful, and (for me anyways) you wanted Hilly and Elizabeth to be slapped (though, I would say that Hilly eating the ‘poo’ pie was almost as good a slap in the face).

Celia Foote was such a great secondary character, I really wanted more from her in the book just because she was so fun and innocent and so much fun to read about.

I think I need to start reading some happy books that don’t involve me crying like a baby, because so far every single book I’ve reviewed for this blog has made me cry. At the end when Aibileen is saying bye to her “baby girl” I was so emotionally moved, she raised that child and was fired just like that, it was heartbreaking.

I also watched the movie right after I finished the book and I have to say that the book adapted really well to film, and the casting was really, really well done.

That being said I think I’ll give this book 5 stars because I really just loved it so much, and if there is anyone who has not read the book yet I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

