Review: Room

Room by Emma Donoghue

Room was the next book on my reading list (remind me that I need to post my current reading list). I had heard a lot of great things about it and it’s a book that my aunt had recommended I read (my family has a bit of a book swap/recommendation thing happening). For those that don’t know it is a book written from the perspective of a five year old boy who has lived in a underground room with his mother who was captured seven years prior.

To be perfectly honest, when I started the book I didn’t think I was going to enjoy it. The writing, for me, was extremely difficult to follow at first and I was worried that I wasn’t going to be able to get into the story. But as soon as the story picked up I hardly took any notice to the writing style (though I think I did correct the grammar in my head as I read). Writing the whole book through a five year old’s thoughts was a risky move, but I think it paid off because you got more emotionally attached to Jack and you really felt when he struggled in his life.

The content was truly heartbreaking, I was emotionally moved throughout the book; bringing me to the verge of tears countless times (on the subway of course, story of my life). But I’m so happy that it was a *SPOILER* happy ending, because I’m not 100 percent sure my heart could take it if it was anything different.

Saying that I’ll give this book a 4 out of 5 rating. I thought it was brilliant, and I definitely recommend it.

Feel free to post your thoughts on the book below!

Leave a Reply

