Random Ramblings

This is somewhat book type news because it DOES have something to do with Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes, but I didn’t know where else I could post my confusion.

It was just released that Lucy Liu is going to be playing John Watson (sorry, Joan Watson. How very clever…) in a new modern CBS adaptation of Sherlock Holmes called ‘Elementary.’ Now, I’m not sure how many of you watch BBC’s ‘Sherlock’ but I can honestly say that I will NOT be watching ‘Elementary’. Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss has so perfectly created a modern day Sherlock Holmes (played by the brilliant Benedict Cumberbatch) that I can’t see how this will even come close to the greatness of it. Also, just because you change the setting and the gender of one of the main characters does not mean that the idea is so drastically different that fans will watch it.

BBC's Sherlock

Who knows, maybe I’m just extremely biased because I’m a die hard fan of ‘Sherlock’ and it’s a bit of an obsession at the moment, but I’m not buying this new series. Not at all.

What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

