Book review: The Kite Runner

I just finished reading The Kite Runner the other week (yes, I know I’m late on that one) and I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it. I thought that it was a good book all around. It held me, and moved me emotionally (I may or may not have cried on the subway while reading this).

I think because I read the book so late in the game, and not in its prime, was a good thing, because my perception of the book wasn’t altered by the hype. Yes, I knew it was overhyped and generally called a very good book (not by everyone, there are a lot of pretty bad reviews out there) but I had never read any reviews. I went in expecting a good read and that is exactly what I got.

The first section of the book was probably my favourite section. Learning about the geography of Afghanistan, the kite running competition and seeing the relationship between Amir and Hassan and how it changed were some of the many great things about the first section.

I’m not going to go over too much detail on here (unless someone wants me too, you can let me know in the comment section). I want to make this more of a general review/recommendation thing. Unless, of course, I have very strong feelings about the topic.

Overall, I just really enjoyed the book and I look forward to reading A Thousand Splendid Suns.

I’ll give this book 3.5 star out of 5, and I would definitely recommend it to people who are into a more contemporary style of writing.

Read more for some info that includes spoilers.

Just some facts about my thought process at certain points in the novel:

  • I always had a feeling Hassan was Baba’s illegitimate son, so I wasn’t surprised at all when that came out.
  • I cried on the subway when I was reading Baba’s death.
  • I almost couldn’t get through the rape scene, it was horrible to read.
  • I hated Amir for not helping Hassan, but I also felt for him at the same time. As much as I tell myself I would have helped Hassan, I have never been in that position to make that decision, so I can’t judge.

 

One thought on “Book review: The Kite Runner

Leave a Reply

